9 groups submit pre-qualification documents for common ticketing project

Nine groups are pursuing their bids for the P1.72-billion common ticketing system for Metro Manila’s three mass rail systems, the Department of Transportation and Communications (DOTC) said on Friday.

Thirty-four companies earlier purchased invitation documents for pre-qualification to the Automated Fare Collection System (AFCS) bidding, but only eight submitted the required papers on time. The DOTC identified the eight serious bidders as follows: AF Consortium, SM Consortium, Lamco Consortium, Cromworks Consortium, E-Trans Solutions JV Inc, San Miguel Transport Solutions Corp Consortium, MTD-PRLM Consortium and Megawide-Suyen-Eurolink Consortium.

The Mega Lucky United Consortium failed to make it to the 2 p.m. deadline, but the DOTC accepted its submission, saying the project was still in the pre-qualification stage.

The AF Consortium is composed of Bank of the Philippine Islands, BPI Card Finance Corp, Metro Pacific Investments Corp, Smart Communications Inc, Globe Telecom Inc, AC Infrastructure Holdings Corp, NTT Data Corp, Cubic Transportation Systems (Australia) Pty Ltd, Octopus Transaction Ltd, MSI Global Private Ltd, Accenture Inc and Indra Systemas SA.

The SM Consortium includes SM Investments Corp, BDO Capital Investments Corp, Advance Card System Ltd, Penta Capital Investments Corp, SM Retail Inc, Goldsign Data Co Ltd and BDO Unibank Inc.

The Cromworks Consortium is composed of Berjaya Phils Inc, Kaosheung Rapid Transit Corp, Acer Inc and InfoChamp System Corp.

The Lamco Consortium is composed of Lamco Paper Production Co, New San Jose Builders Inc, Land Bank of the Philippines, NEC Phils Inc, Busan Transport Corp and Samwon FA Co Ltd.

The E-Trans Solutions JV Inc include Tera Investments Inc, Eastwest Banking Corp, Sagesoft Solutions Inc, Pilipinas Micro-matrix Technology Inc, Pulsat Advancer Technologies Inc, JTKC Equities Inc, Kenkart EGE Electronik San VE TIL AA, Kenkart Maramara Electronik, Kenkart Turizm San VE and Kenkart Cukurova.

The San Miguel Transport Solutions Corp Consortium includes San Miguel Corp, Optimal Infrastructure Development Inc, Catchweight Holdings Inc, Deltacrest Holdings Inc, Allcard Plastics Phils Inc, Korea Railroad Corp, Singapore Technologies Electronics Ltd, Philippine National Bank, Korail Networks Co Ltd and VIX Technology (East Asia) Ltd.

The MTD-PRLM Consortium is composed of MTD Capital Berhad, Puregold Realty Leasing and Management Inc, Puregold Price Club Inc, Transit Link Pte Ltd and Maybank Philippines Inc.

The Megawide-Suyen-Eurolink Consortium is composed of Megawide Construction Corp, Suyen Corp, Eurolink Netwok International Corp, EZ Link Pre Ltd and China National Software and Service Co.

The Mega Lucky United Consortium is composed of Asia United Bank Corp, Dignitas Equity, Mega Cellular Network Inc, Gravitas 777, Korea Smart Card Corp and LG CNS Ltd.

 The DOTC said the Bids and Awards Committee would evaluate the bid documents for 20 days and would announce the result five days after the evaluation.

The agency said only those proponents that meet the eligibility requirements will qualify to participate in the actual bidding scheduled to be held in the third quarter of this year.

Technical and financial bids should be submitted by June 17 and July 5, respectively.

The notice of award is scheduled on July 30.

Similar to Hong Kong’s “Octopus” card, the Philippine version would allow commuters to use a single ticket when they ride the Light Rail Transit Lines 1 and 2, as well as the Metro Rail Transit Line 3. The three rail services have a combined ridership of a million a day.

One of the Aquino administration’s public-private partnership (PPP) projects, the proposed tap-and-go system, which the winning bidder will operate for 10 years, will also enhance fare collection efficiency by reducing leakage and fraud.

LRT1 or the “green line” runs from Baclaran in Pasay City to Roosevelt in Quezon City, while LRT2 or the “blue line” runs from Santolan in Marikina to Recto in Manila. MRT3 or the “yellow line” runs from North Avenue in Quezon City to Taft in Pasay.

In the future, the system can be expanded to include other transport modes such as buses, toll roads and the Philippine National Railways.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: